I just can’t wait to be on the road again

15 Dec

After a wonderful weekend with family in Atlanta, it’s unfortunately time to return to my “reality”.  I dropped Pratt off at the airport bright and very early this morning for his flight back to Not-So Maryland, (aka: my least favorite state, for obvious reasons).  As I pulled through all of the newly restructured BNA pathways… I found myself longing for another trip.  What can I say, I’m addicted.  I love to travel.  It doesn’t even have to be anywhere exciting… there’s just something thrilling to me about the whole process.  This, all coming from a girl who didn’t take her first flight until she was in her twenties.  Yes that’s right, my family drove EVERYWHERE.  I’ve been on more planes in the past month than during the first 20 years of my life. Granted, I do have a much better excuse for my numerous flights than ever before.  In fact, I’m pretty sure Southwest should have special assigned seats for Pratt and I en route from BNA to BWI (and visa versa).    

But aside from obligatory visits to the bf (kidding, I enjoy them), I love just going.  Anywhere. (and not just by plane). I’m constatntly thinking about and plotting my next “adventure”.  When my mind wanders… it’s to my next vacation. When I get more money… it goes towards my next vacation.  I don’t know if it’s the temporary escape from monotony or just the excitement that comes from the feeling of temporary freedom, but I crave it.  Needless to say, I’ve had my fair share of airport experiences in these past few years.  I wouldn’t categorize myself as a “pro” by any means (considering I’ve never even ventured abroad), but I’ve definitely earned “frequent flier” status.  Apart from having BNA and BWI memorized like the back of my hand (side note- who really memorizes what the back of their hand looks like?? I’m just saying),  along the way I’ve slowly compiled a list of, what I believe to be, necessities when flying the friendly skies.  In the spirit of sharing:  

A Blackberry (or any phone with internet capabilities).  But personally, Blackberry always wins. 

T-Mobile Blackberry Bold 9700

  

An iPod (loaded with a few new tunes and plenty of classics).  I always like to download something new right before a trip and spend my journey critiquing it. 

iPod Classic

  

Bose Headphones.  I got some as a Christmas gift a couple years back and I never fly without them.  I never fully appreciated their noise-cancelling capabilities until a recent flight with a very unhappy 1-year-old.  These babies are gold.  Trust me.  Not to mention that every song sounds like a private in-flight performance . 

Bose Noise-Cancelling Headphones

  

Anti-Swine (sanitizer and disinfectants).  You really can’t have too many of these.  I sanitize after I touch anything at the airport or on the plane.  And these wipes are especially handy for wiping down tray-tables and armrests. (and headrests, you know,  just in case someone might have had lice).  I never thought myself a germaphobe, but I do realize this all makes me sound like a crazy lady.  Well worth it in my book. 

Purell Hand Sanitizer

Clorox Wipes To-Go

 

Big purses.  How else are you to carry all of your above-mentioned goodies through the airport?  (I’ll spare you my Olsen obsession for another post) 

Ashley Olsen + Big Purse

   

Jacket or small blanket. It never fails.  The day I decide I can survive that short little 1.5 hour flight without protection is the day the captain has a hot-flash and decides to freeze us out with sub-zero temps. 

This might be pushing it

  

Easy shoes & minimal accessories.  I’ve never encountered too much of a problem with passing through security, but having shoes that come on and off easily can be a small blessing.  Summer travel is easy with flip-flops and various other quickly removable sandals, but it’s the cold months that get ya.  Those tall, super-cute, have-to-spend-20-minutes-tucking -in-your-jeans, kind of boots are a game killer on a busy day. 

Not the best idea

  

Chargers.  Being caught at the airport for hours while your plane is delayed, and your phone is dead is not cool.  How will all of your social-networking buddies know all about the misery you are suffering??  Really, you’re doing it for them.  Think about them. 

Phone Charger

  

   

 

Leave a Reply

