Wedding Planning

21 Dec

A crash course.

So, my little sister Katie is getting married on May 22nd, 2010. We think. Katie and her fiancé Clint have been engaged since August of this year.  I was unofficially asked to step in as wedding planner.  Although I’m glad to help out (as I love weddings and everything girly)  I can’t make the decisions for her.  And, as of today (exactly 152 days from said wedding date) all that has been planned is the location: our home.  Plenty of other details have been thought about.  I guess that doesn’t count, does it?  Crap.  Her wedding is in 5 months and she doesn’t even have a dress yet.  (I can literally feel the panic I just caused to all of you past brides and wedding enthusiasts out there… I know, I know). 

Katie & Clint have been together for over 4 years now.  Here they are…

My mother and I have been through every checklist,book, blog, and magazine article we could find on wedding planning.  We know what we need to do, we just haven’t done it.  Don’t get me wrong, my sister couldn’t wait to be engaged, and definitely can’t wait to be married… it’s just that whole commit-to-a-date-and-plan-millions-of-little-details thing that she doesn’t much care for.  I can’t really blame her, it’s a LOT of work. I’m sure part of her has just wanted to run off and elope and not have to deal with any of the hassle a wedding can bring (and it may have, once or twice, been suggested by parents and various other family members).  You see, the men in Clint’s family have a history of this “tradition”… Mom was just trying to help them live out a legacy.  Ok, ok, maaayybbe mom is a (normally-sane) nutcase in hostess situations who is totally freaking about the amount of time we have left, and just doesn’t think she can survive the day-of without a anxiety attack.  (She winds herself up into a nervous wreck whenever we just have family coming over… dad likes to say she walks in circles).  We know better than to get in her way.  I can’t even begin to imagine what a couple hundred people, dresses, tuxes, caterers, photographers, and Dad would do to her.  She might have to be heavily medicated.  That, or we can ship her off to a deserted island and let her watch the wedding via live satellite feed?

Just for fun- Let’s take a vote!  “Backyard Wedding vs. Take The Money & Run” 

 

Well, Needless to say, If this wedding does happen on schedule, we’ve got a long way to go.  And since I’ll be learning as we go… I’ll try to keep everyone posted on the many adventures that are sure to follow, and the many lessons we learn along the way.  And, if anyone would like to share helpful pointers of your own, please do!

I do know this much; one of the most helpful resources I’ve found so far in my wedding research has been Ashley’s Bride Guide.  This website has pretty much everything you could possibly want to know about weddings in Nashville.  I could spend hours browsing through the numerous vendors and stalking other Nashvillians on the “Get Inspired” pages (A GREAT place to go for ideas on everything from location and colors to favors and food). I love it. Even if you don’t live in Nashville, you should really check it out just for the ideas that come with hours of browsing through wedding photos, videos, and such.

In the meantime…

Wish us luck!

3 Responses to “Wedding Planning”

  1. Amy K. 12.22.09 at 10:04 pm #

    Awesome post Becky! Even though our wedding was great, if Jerry and I could go back in time and decide what to do, we would have eloped and just had a big party somewhere when we got back. My Dad offered us money to elope and we could have put it towards a house, car, etc. If they do end up having a wedding for sure, my advice to them would be to make sure they have some extra time to visit with people–we felt rushed through the whole thing and didn’t get to spend time with our families.

  2. Katie Price 12.23.09 at 6:19 am #

    Good news, I almost asked my bridal party on Friday. That’s sort-of a step closer, right?

  3. Katie Price 12.31.09 at 4:25 am #

    I’m getting married 7 months ago?

Leave a Reply

