Personality Theories: For Fun.

25 Feb

Have you ever taken a personality test?  What were your results?  Were the accurate?  Although I don’t technically believe in astrological “signs” and the ability of a horoscope to determine how my week/month/year will go, sometimes a horoscope will offer details about a personality “trait” of the sign.  Well, recently I was reading a magazine and flipped through to the horoscope section and I stopped (no matter how hard I tried to resist) and read it.  It was pretty darn accurate.  I’ve always somewhat believed that the Aquarian traits mirror mine a good bit:

“Uranus, your planetary ruler, is abrupt and breathtaking by nature and will fill your life with plenty of unanticipated surprises – good and not so good. You like it like this and the unexpected is something you thrive upon! Even if you have a stable home or work situation you like to shake things up from time to time to keep everyone on their toes. Still, you’re very loyal when it comes to your most personal relationships…There’s a universal quality about you. Although you appear aloof and detached you’re inwardly sensitive and caring. You prefer to associate with people who share the same diverse views on life. Your life will almost certainly never be drab. You are able to embrace anything new including music and fashion. This is why you’ll always be young at heartsure that definitely can’t be true for every Aquarius ever born, but it worked for me!

All this got me thinking back to the various personality tests we took in school.  I don’t know about you, but when I started college one of the first things they had us do was take the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator test (MBTI).  They herded us into a big room, gave us no.2 pencils and forced us, before even starting our first class at the school, to take this test.  Of course I wasn’t paying much attention to what I was filling in… hey, there were boys, classes, roommates, dorms, teachers, and food to think about.  I’m pretty sure I filled it out as quickly as possible so that I could get out of that dungeon on onto more fun college-y things.  I don’t think I ever gave that test a second thought until a couple years later in a business class of mine.  Our teacher wanted everyone to review their results and we were going to discuss our different personality types and how they could help us select career paths.  One minor problem, of course I never even went to pick up my results, and who knew if they were even close to accurate!   I filled that thing out in a flash.  Well, as it turns out, those results were pretttty accurate.  I’m not quite sure how that happened, but I’ll take it.  My packet of information said I was an INFP (The “Healer” or “Idealist”).  Annndd, I’m pretty sure my “animal” was a unicorn. What? Everyone else got squirrels and bears and I got a freakin unicorn.  Go figure.  I’m not complaining, it’s pretty awesome, but definitely not even a real creature.  (Side note:  Pratt and I had this class together and it was one of the first times we started hanging out as friends… before I missed an assignment and my teacher convinced me that dropping the class would be best because he didn’t believe marketing was “my thing”.  Choice words withheld. I have little respect for someone who would make that kind of judgement on a whim.  He’s no healer.)  ANYway, back to my main ramblings… Me= INFP.  And that teacher= lame.  Check out some excerpts I’ve pulled from various resources regarding my type:

  • “INFPs develop these insights through reflection, and they require substantial time alone to ponder and process new information. While they can be quite patient with complex material, they are generally bored by routine. Though not always organized, INFPs are meticulous about things they value…. INFPs are creative types and often have a gift for language. As introverts, they may prefer to express themselves through writing. Their dominant Feeling drives their desire to communicate, while their auxiliary intuition supplies the imagination.”  Wikipedia
  • “INFPs never seem to lose their sense of wonder. One might say they see life through rose-colored glasses. It’s as though they live at the edge of a looking-glass world where mundane objects come to life, where flora and fauna take on near-human qualities.” Typelogic
  • http://www.similarminds.com/jung/infp.html Umm, is it just me or did they pick all worst, depressing, adjectives to describe me??  And apparently I’m all about legalizing pot.  And apparently, I also picked the worst possible job for my personality type.. Guess I need to quit and start painting.

For those of you who know me really well… Yes. I agree.  It’s almost eerie how well that describes me (maybe minus a few of the suicidal adjectives).

This, however, wasn’t the only forced personality testing I endured in college.  In another business class of mine (yes I stayed in the business world, despite the suggestions of a certain Mr. KnowitALL) we took the StrengthsQuest.  This test was designed to yield your top personality strengths. I don’t remember them all, but I know they included;  Adaptability, Empathy, and Developer.  So basically, I “go with the flow”, I feel for others, and I like to implement improvement in others.  Again, super accurate.

I guess all this just goes to say that it’s worth while to take a look at these things.  They are so insightful in terms of letting you see your personality from an outsider’s prospective.  You may think, no thanks, I think I know me pretty well.  There’s no arguing that, but these test just help you understand and articulate these traits in a way you probably haven’t been able to before. They’re great indicators for careers paths you would excel in, and the type of relationships you should seek out.  If nothing else, it’s just so interesting to hear yourself described (almost to a T) by someone who has never once met you.

Both of these tests cost $$ to take, so unless you were lucky enough to have them included with your education, you will have to fork over the dough.  I can’t help you with the Strengths Quest, but if you want to see what your Myers Briggs results would be, without the money and hours of bubble filling, you can go here and take a simplified online version for free.  I took it and ended up with the exact results of the real thing.

Happy Testing!

One Response to “Personality Theories: For Fun.”

  1. Amy K. 02.26.10 at 3:45 pm #

    Hey Becky! I loved this! I just did the test and I’m an INFJ. I like what it says and they are right. Thanks for something fun to do today while I’m working =).

Leave a Reply

