The Forecast Called for Showers…

29 Apr

… and it’s not letting up just yet.

WeddingMania.  That’s the only way I can describe my life lately. I’m pretty sure 87% of my thoughts these days are directly related to the upcoming nuptials and the 26million tiny details that will fall (or be forcefully shoved) into place over the next couple weeks.  Did you read that?  WEEKS.  There are only 3 weeks until this shindig and things are about to get crazy.  There are so many things figure out, logistics-wise, that I literally want to curl up in the fetal position in the back of my closet and hide until it’s over sometimes.  Granted, all of the big decisions have been made, vendors have been booked, colors have been selected, blah blah blah.  That’s great and all, but HOW is all of this going to play out on May 22nd?  Let’s hope for something miraculous.  Since my sister has decided not to use a “professional” wedding planner, all of the day-and-weekend-of logistics are going to be delegated out among friends and family (who may have not actually volunteered yet but will be moooooreee than happy to lend a hand, I’m sure 🙂 ).

I plan to put together somewhat of a “dream team” of assistants to make this day run smoothly.  I’d love to be out in the field, fighting battles with my team, but since it’s my little sister getting married, I really would rather spend the day enjoying every moment, and soaking it all in instead of worrying about the cake that just fell to the floor, the location of the photographer, and the grandmother that just fell into the pool. (I’m not hoping for this, just prepared for the worst).  I don’t want the stressful details of the day keep me from enjoying this special event.

SO. If you haven’t been contacted yet, you’ve at least been warned.

On top of trying to tie up all of those loose ends, it’s been a month of showers as well.  The Price family shower and the couples shower are both behind us now, and the Ebel family shower and lingerie/bachelorette festivities are still out ahead.  (The Bachelor party is currently happening as I type, but luckily that’s one I don’t have to worry about).  I think the couple has received some great gifts, and I’m really thankful to all of the people who came out to support them and show them some love!  It’s been so great and we’ve all had so much fun.  I’m even more thankful for those who at least RSVP’d is some way, shape, or form about their attendance.  Seriously, don’t get me started on my newest, and ever-increasing, pet peeve of the moment.  But, back to positivity- I will post some shower pictures as soon as I get a chance… or the motivation.  Don’t hold your breath though.  Like I said… fetal position.

I would love to have been blogging more lately, but unfortunately, I knew if I opened my mouth, a would vomit wedding stories all over you.  I know you don’t want that.  So I’ve spared you until now.

On the wedding list for today: Flower selection with the bride and mother-of, lighting discussions, find a back-up bachelorette/lingerie shower venue since apparently my numero uno doesn’t like to pay their taxes and the state of TN wasn’t OK with that, shipping out a bridesmaid dress to a patiently waiting friend of the bride (at fault of the bridal store, i promise), coordinating the previously mentioned “dream team” and assigning tasks, finding a dress for the Ebel family shower this weekend, finding invitations for the lingerie shower, inviting people to the lingerie shower…  Sleep.  peaceful sleep.

Enough vomit for now. Keep an eye out for some pictures of these fun wedding events soon!

Leave a Reply

