Things I Love Thursday

1 Jul


credit

Sometimes these lists are just a fun, light-hearted way to share my happy thoughts and such, but today… it’s an escape.  I’ve had the most obnoxious of all weeks in history.  I can’t (and won’t) pin it to one particular incident, it’s just been all-around craptastic.  I found myself, today, hand-writing a list of things I have to be thankful for (the TRUE meaning of TILT I suppose).  It really does help to take a moment away from the pity-fest and focus on all of the good things in your life.  It’s so easy to sit back and count all the things going wrong, but it really takes some strength to pull yourself out of negative-land (or Negsville, as Dad responded to us children as his preferred way of saying “no”) when you just feel like being whiny and angry and bitter.  Sometimes it’s easier to feel sorry for yourself. You know, like;  “This is the worst week ever”, “My life is terrible”, and “People should feel sorry for me and buy me brownies and cheese dip”.

But… then it happens;  The moment where you decide that YOU control your own happiness and you become determined to not let this week continue to ruin your mood.  So, you step outside of the freezing office, away from the computer and everyone in the building.  You close your eyes and let the wind lift your hair off of your face just long enough for the warm sun to embrace you… and you remember that life’s not so bad after all.   Maybe it’s just me, but sometimes just being outside can make all of my problems and worries seem so much smaller.  It’s a reminder of how big God is and how wonderful this world is that we live in.  I guess it takes feeling small to see the big picture.

So, today I encourage all of you to be happy, despite whatever is going on in your life (big or small).  Decide to be happy no matter what and really take a moment to step back and reflect on all of the great things you DO have going for you… it will make the bad stuff seem so trivial.

Here’s a sappy/fun combo list of things I love (and am thankful for) today:

God’s love and daily reminders

My family & dear friends who support me

Having $$ in the bank

Having a good job & an education

My sweet boyfriend who politely puts up with my occasional melt-downs

Having PTO left to use on weeks like this

My health

My free living arrangements

My ability to restrain myself from purposely t-boning that lady at the 4-way-stop (thisclose)

Pretty new bracelets from Anthro that fit my little wrists, yet stretch over my large hands

My niece Marlie’s chocolate dance (she’s my girl alright)

The video of my niece, Marlie, singing  & dancing to Bullet Proof (which I can’t share cause it’s only been uploaded to FB and not youtube… hint, hint)

People who flash their lights to warn me of cops ahead, appreciated

People who don’t gossip

Stocking up on Target cardigans to assist in the warming process at work (maybe one day I can leave the fleece at home)

Planning adventures with my bestest of friends (shoutout NB!)

The humor of trying to create a “beauty budget” and ending up with a dollar value that could feed an entire third world country for 2 years, because I can justify anything.

Slumber party with my newly married sister last weekend (and sympathizing with Edward Scissorhands)

Mary Kate & Ashley Olsen.  Just because.

3 Responses to “Things I Love Thursday”

  1. x Corrine/Frock & Roll x 07.2.10 at 9:16 am #

    I love your list! This week I love hummer limousines, the glory of hot porridge with peaches and fresh passionfruit on a winter morning, long, languid nights with my boyfriend, watching old episodes of ‘Sex & The City’, and karaoke!

  2. Niki 07.2.10 at 10:53 am #

    Yay! I made the list. Glad our upcoming trip helped your craptastc week a little bit! Sorry ur week is awful 😦 Love you. And I’lll politely put up with your meltdowns too if you need another venter.

    • bjprice85 07.6.10 at 3:47 pm #

      I wish we were still roomies and I could just come home and vent to you over some Taste of Tokyo (RIP) and a Friends marathon. The glory days. However, I’m better now and excited for upcoming adventures!

Leave a Reply

