Things I Love Thursday

2 Sep

Well hello again, friends.  It seems that I’ve been somewhat MIA the last month.  I’d apologize to you about my lack of posting, but I’m really not all that sorry (whoops)!  Of course I’ve missed sharing my thoughts and getting your feedback, but my impromptu hiatus was a nice little vacation.  Like a social-networking rehab of sorts. It’s amazing how freeing it can be to let yourself off the hook …even when it’s your own projects.  Social media stresses me out.  It’s just one more thing to worry about.  Between my blackberry, Facebook, LinkedIn, this blog, Twitter, and multiple email accounts, I feel like I constantly have to work to assure I’m up-to-date on everything going on in the lives of my “friends” and stay on top of any and all communications passing through the various vessels.  Sometimes I think about just deleting them all and enjoying my freedom.  Maybe one day I will. I’ve mentioned the idea of deleting FB once and everybody I told basically shunned me.  People are apparently very serious about Facebook!

Things I love Today:

– Fall approaching with means so many good things:  (here’s my response, theoneinpink) Football, sweatshirts, traveling, campfires, crisp & cool morning air, good TV, hot coffee drinks, colorful leaves and peaceful drives, Sunday naps on the couch-monster, and prepping for my favorite holiday of all- Christmas (I also start preparations in October, which really just means listening to tons of holiday music. I have to make myself wait until October begins or people want to injure me).

– Upcoming travel plans starting with tomorrow’s trip to Chicago! (then followed by Frederick, Vegas, Gatlinburg, etc).

– Smore’s bars. Or the real deal.  Any combination of graham cracker, chocolate, and marshmallow works.

– My blogging vacation.

This pretty cleaver idea from UPS.  I like the idea of not lugging  bags through the airport, on cab, busses, etc.  Having my bag hand-delivered to my room might be pretty sweet.  And if I wasn’t flying SW, therefore having to pay for a checked bag, I might look into it.

– Simply Lemonades.

– A good pulled-pork BBQ sandwich with french fries (or onion rings) and a giant sweet tea.

– Manicured Nails.  Manicures are usually a definite no-go for this girl due to a serious polish problem. (the polish stays for maybe a day, starts to chip, then I can’t resist the urge to peel it all off).  I hated spending money for something that was so short-lived.  But recently I’ve gotten a few manicures and not only did I LOVE how beautiful my nails were (as opposed to my own artwork, which i consider pretty decent) the polish actually lasted around 5 whole days.  A miracle in nail-care.  I’m slightly obsessed now.  This is one expensive habit I probably need to break… but might continue jussst a little bit longer.  My favorite colors lately- Essise Beach Party, and Heavenly Sunset.

– My dad’s 30th anniversary gif to my mom.  Pictures to follow.

– My best friend (below with her future husband) getting engaged!! Wedding planing round 2! Couldn’t be happier for Niki and Chandler.

– Seeing MY boy tomorrow, finally, after 7 long weeks.  We get 5 days together this time and I can’t wait.  Plus, our visit will be taking place in Chicago, which means lots of fun entertainment options (i.e. eating & shopping).  I haven’t checked Man vs Food yet to see what delicious eateries might be in our path, but I will.

Leave a Reply

