79 Days To Go

4 Nov

Wow, so I guess you’ve probably missed me?? Yeah, I thought so. I know for a fact my mom has. She’s lovingly nagged me here and there about updating this thing. So, really, this is for you, mom.  🙂

So… a LOT has happened since my last post (thus the excuse for my absence). For starters, I got engaged! (yay). My best friend, boyfriend, and now fiancé asked me to marry him on October 1, 2010. I said yes. Then we got the crazy idea that we should get married in 3 months. Hey, I called myself crazy, there’s no need for you to chime in. It’s been insanely overwhelming these last few weeks, as expected, but I think I’m finally starting to get a little clarity in all the madness. You may be wondering why we chose to get married so quickly (January 22, 2011 to be precise), and I’m wondering the same thing, so when you figure it our let me know. Just kidding, we’ve spent the last 3 years dating long-distance and the moment he asked me to marry him I knew I didn’t want to put it off any longer. We’re just so ready to be together, in the same place, and married. We didn’t see a need to drag it out any longer. So, let the games begin!

I’m in the process of planning a wedding, a honeymoon, a move (destination slightly unknown but most likely Maryland), and all of the little details that fall in-between those events. It’s chaotic to say the very least. And even though I may or may not have had a nervous breakdown on at least 28 of the last 34 days of our engagement, I’m still glad we made this decision. Aside from being overly-annoyed with long-distance romance, I’m a huge, MAJOR procrastinator and If there wasn’t a fire under my butt I may have never gotten things done.

Butt-fire has been lit and plans are underway. My mom and sister have been extremely helpful in figuring things out. I’m thankful for them and all of my wonderful friends who have offered to help in various ways. I generally have a problem asking for help, I’ve always just liked doing things for myself, so I always wait until I’m practically hiding in a closet crying before I cave and beg for assistance. But, my family just steps in without invitation, and their style of force-fed help is exactly what I’ve needed.

We’ve got a lot of major details figured out (date, venue, dress, bridesmaid dresses, caterer…). Wait, is that all? Shoot! It seemed like so much more in my head. I guess I mean, I’ve “thought” about a lot of details. I may not have them all finalized, but I definitely know what I want… for the most part. And we’re slowly but surely getting there!

Here’s our wedding website if you’re interested. It’s password protected but if you want the password (and I know you) just let me know!!

79 days and counting!!  Wish us luck!!

One Response to “79 Days To Go”

  1. Amy K. 11.5.10 at 11:46 am #

    Hey Becky! I think it’s great that you are having a short engagement. Jerry and I were only engaged for 7 months before we got married. I’m not sure why we waited for September instead of June to get married, since I graduated in June, but I moved to Florida and started a new job after graduation, so maybe that’s why. You can definitely throw everything together in 3 months time =). I would love to check out your website–can you email me the password? =)

Leave a Reply

